Tags

, , , , ,

NaNoWriMo is upon us again soon.

The funny thing is, despite having known about it for years, last year was the first time I attempted it – and never completed it. I got some 17,000 words in and decided that I shouldn’t be working on a new project when old ones still remained to be finished. So it got set aside, as often happens. At least this time the projects I returned to did get finished. In part that is why I like short stories – after 10-15,000 words you are generally finished.

This year I am contemplating doing it again – but not with a novel, as is the norm. Instead I am thinking of doing an anthology of short stories. The question is which, as I have a few planned.

The first is one I’ve already written six short stories for and was planned to be one of the next things finished after the re-editing and new covers were done for the previous stories. There are three more stories planned for the anthology, though I am not sure if they can be stretched to 50,000 words between them.

The second only has one story written so far – and another half done. It had been planned as a novella but may end up being a bit longer, given it is already 40,000 words in length. Four novelettes and a novella are planned to finish of that anthology, so it could easily hit the 50,000 word mark.

The third is a anthology of pulp style sword and sorcery fantasy stories – three have been written (but not yet published) with a number more planned. The good thing about them is that they are fairly fun and easy to write and don’t require a huge amount of planning.

The last one is an anthology I’ve been wanting to write for a long time but never gotten around to it – a steampunk series set in a fantastical alternative Earth, following the exploits of a gentleman-adventurer and his companions as they battle pterodactyl-riding pygmies while travelling aboard airships, find lost treasures in hidden temples in the deep jungles, get caught up in the politics of the Immortal Queen Victoria of Albion as she seeks to defend the Empire against her foes in Europa and all the weird science and outlandish steampunk contraptions that go along with it.

I still have a few weeks to go luckily before a choice needs to be made.

